Checked on 8 November 2026. Each row below was read from the vendor's own public page on that day, and each cell reports what that page states, quoted where possible. Where a page does not state a property, the cell says "Not stated". Spun's row is read from Spun's own MCP page to the same standard.
Prices, plans and features change. The page named in each row is the place to confirm them. The order of the rows is not a ranking.
What are the four shapes of WhatsApp MCP server?
A hosted server on your own number runs at a web address the vendor manages and links to the WhatsApp number you already use, as a linked device. Your AI app connects to that address.
A self-hosted open-source server is code you download and run on your own computer or server. You link your WhatsApp account to it yourself and point your AI app at it.
A browser extension works through WhatsApp Web open in your browser, so the connection depends on that browser window.
A Business-API platform connects through the WhatsApp Business API, Meta's official API for businesses, usually on a number registered for it, with Meta's message fees on top of the platform's price.
Several products below combine more than one shape, for example a hosted server that reaches WhatsApp through a browser extension or a desktop app, or a platform that offers both a QR link and the Business API.
Shape and connection at a glance
| Product | Shape | How WhatsApp is connected |
|---|---|---|
| Spun | Hosted | Linked device on your own number |
| Blueticks | Hosted, or local with npx | Linked device, through the Blueticks browser extension or a cloud Gateway |
| Wassenger | Hosted | Business API number, or a number linked by QR code |
| whats.team | Bridge to the WhatsTeam API | A connected WhatsApp device; method not stated |
| Letsbot | Hosted add-on | Business API (marked recommended) or QR scan |
| GetAutomata | Open source, self-hosted or hosted | Linked device through Evolution API |
| Kondo | Hosted endpoint plus the Kondo desktop app | Through the desktop app; method not stated |
| TimelinesAI | Hosted, MIT-licensed source | QR linked device or Business API |
| Composio | Hosted | Business API |
| lharries/whatsapp-mcp | Self-hosted open source | Linked device by QR (whatsmeow) |
Summarized from the rows below, as stated on each page on 2026-11-08.
Spun
| Property | As stated on the page |
|---|---|
| Shape | Hosted MCP server at api.spun.com: "no Docker container, no local process, and no QR session to keep alive". |
| How WhatsApp is connected | "Your own WhatsApp number joins as a linked device". |
| Sign-in for ChatGPT and claude.ai | "On claude.ai, ChatGPT and Gemini: paste the URL and sign in with Spun", no key. OAuth 2.1 with a consent screen where an org manager picks the org and access level. Other clients use an API key. |
| Clients named | claude.ai, ChatGPT, the Gemini app, Claude Code, the Anthropic API MCP connector, Cursor, Goose, Gemini CLI, n8n's MCP Client node. Verified end to end: claude.ai, Claude Code and ChatGPT. |
| What the AI can do (read, send, approval step) | Reads chats and contacts and sends. "The AI submits; the send waits in the "AI sends" queue. A teammate with send permission approves". |
| Free tier | Free MCP after the 7-day trial, with a card on file that is not charged: 100 AI calls a month, up to 200 different contacts a month, 7 days of message history, every send waits for approval. |
| Price | "MCP access is part of your Spun plan." The /mcp page lists Free MCP at USD 0 and Starter at USD 49. |
| Number protection | "the number stays protected through the same residential connection, Self Proxy or Spun Box as on every plan". |
| Page and date checked | spun.com/mcp/, read 2026-11-08 (the page shows "Checked on 2026-10-18"). |
Read from Spun's own /mcp page on 2026-11-08, to the same standard as the other rows.
Blueticks
| Property | As stated on the page |
|---|---|
| Shape | "Blueticks is a hosted WhatsApp MCP service". A local option run with npx is also described. |
| How WhatsApp is connected | "a WhatsApp Web linked device on your own number. It is not the Meta Cloud API". Linked by QR or link code, through the Blueticks browser extension with web.whatsapp.com open in Chrome, or through a cloud-hosted Gateway. |
| Sign-in for ChatGPT and claude.ai | Claude: "sign in to Blueticks and approve access. No API key is stored in Claude." ChatGPT: "set authentication to OAuth". Claude Code and Cursor use an API key. |
| Clients named | Claude, ChatGPT, Claude Code, Cursor, other MCP clients with an API key. |
| What the AI can do (read, send, approval step) | "read your chats, send messages and schedule them from your own WhatsApp number". Approval is in the client: "approve each call yourself and avoid "Allow always"". |
| Free tier | "the free plan is limited to 5 requests per 6 hours"; "The free plan has no time limit". |
| Price | Per user per month: Basic $7 yearly or $9 monthly, Standard $20 or $25, Pro $45 or $50. The connector has "no extra charge and works on any plan". |
| Number protection | "We cannot promise a number will never be restricted." The page calls the engine "an unofficial WhatsApp Web automation engine". |
| Page and date checked | blueticks.co/mcp, read 2026-11-08 (the page states its facts were checked on 31 October 2026). |
Read from the vendor's own page on 2026-11-08. "Not stated" means the page read does not say.
Wassenger
| Property | As stated on the page |
|---|---|
| Shape | Hosted: "fully managed", "it runs on our infrastructure", "nothing to install". |
| How WhatsApp is connected | MCP page: "connects to your WhatsApp Business API number". Pricing page: "connect a WhatsApp or WhatsApp Business number with a QR code, or connect the WhatsApp Business API". |
| Sign-in for ChatGPT and claude.ai | API key in a Bearer header. ChatGPT "via Connectors panel". claude.ai not named; Claude Desktop through mcp-remote. |
| Clients named | Claude, ChatGPT, VS Code Copilot, Cursor, Windsurf, Gemini, Zed, Continue.dev, Aider, Claude Desktop, Gemini (Vertex AI), LangChain, LlamaIndex, the OpenAI and Anthropic APIs. |
| What the AI can do (read, send, approval step) | "read chats, send messages, search contacts and trigger automations". "Approval lives in the client, not in Wassenger." |
| Free tier | No free plan stated. "7 days free · No credit card", after which the workspace pauses with read access. |
| Price | Per number per month: Professional $39.90, Business $69.90, Enterprise $99.90 (annual $33.25, $58.25, $83.25 a month). "The MCP server is included on every plan". Meta template costs at cost. |
| Number protection | Not stated. |
| Page and date checked | wassenger.com/whatsapp-mcp and wassenger.com/pricing, read 2026-11-08 (no date on the pages). |
Read from the vendor's own page on 2026-11-08. "Not stated" means the page read does not say.
whats.team (WhatsTeam)
| Property | As stated on the page |
|---|---|
| Shape | The MCP server "only acts as a bridge between your AI tool and the WhatsTeam API", run through npx mcp-remote with https://api.whats.team/mcp. The site menu lists "WhatsApp Business API"; pricing says "Meta conversation fees apply separately". |
| How WhatsApp is connected | "a connected WhatsApp device". The linking method is not stated. |
| Sign-in for ChatGPT and claude.ai | "uses your API key". ChatGPT "(via API)". claude.ai not named. |
| Clients named | Claude Desktop, ChatGPT (via API), VS Code with GitHub Copilot, Cursor, Windsurf, n8n, Google Gemini, Zed, Continue.dev, Claude Code. |
| What the AI can do (read, send, approval step) | "Full read and write access". An approval step is not stated. |
| Free tier | No free plan stated. 14-day trial, no card. |
| Price | USD per month, one number each: Starter $29 (up to 4 members), Business $69 (7), Enterprise $119 (12). MCP appears in the Business feature list; which plans include it is not stated. |
| Number protection | Not stated. |
| Page and date checked | whats.team/mcp and whats.team/pricing, read 2026-11-08 (no date on the pages). |
Read from the vendor's own page on 2026-11-08. "Not stated" means the page read does not say.
Letsbot
| Property | As stated on the page |
|---|---|
| Shape | Remote MCP server at https://letsbot.net/mcp, "Part of the API + MCP add-on". The page names Letsbot a Meta Business Partner. |
| How WhatsApp is connected | "Official WhatsApp Business API (recommended)" or a QR scan. |
| Sign-in for ChatGPT and claude.ai | OAuth for Claude.ai and the desktop app; ChatGPT "OAuth 2.1 (PKCE auto-detected)". Cursor, Gemini and VS Code use an API key. |
| Clients named | ChatGPT, Claude (Claude.ai and desktop), Cursor, Continue.dev, Gemini CLI, VS Code Copilot Chat. |
| What the AI can do (read, send, approval step) | "read and send messages on your WhatsApp Business number". "after you confirm" is stated for group sends, tickets and appointments, not for single sends or campaigns. Keys can be read-only or full access. |
| Free tier | No permanent free tier stated. 14-day trial, no card. |
| Price | "$69.99 per month, VAT included, added to any base plan"; the Starter base plan is $6.35, $76.34 in total. |
| Number protection | Business API: "no risk of a ban for using an unofficial link". QR link: "It is an unofficial link, so the number can be restricted". |
| Page and date checked | letsbot.net/en/whatsapp-mcp.html, read 2026-11-08 (page data dated 2026-05-08). |
Read from the vendor's own page on 2026-11-08. "Not stated" means the page read does not say.
GetAutomata
| Property | As stated on the page |
|---|---|
| Shape | "Open source · Self-host or hosted", MIT license. |
| How WhatsApp is connected | "pairs a regular WhatsApp account as a linked device through Evolution API". No Business API. |
| Sign-in for ChatGPT and claude.ai | A bearer token; the connector URL contains the token. OAuth is not stated. |
| Clients named | Claude, Claude.ai, Claude Desktop, Claude Code, ChatGPT, Cursor, Grok, Meta Muse, Hermes Agent, any MCP client. |
| What the AI can do (read, send, approval step) | Read, search and send, limited to the chats on the token: "Scope checked before every tool call". A human approval step is not stated. Media is not sent to the AI. |
| Free tier | Self-hosted: "Free, forever". Hosted: "Free tier available"; its limits are not stated. |
| Price | Not stated. |
| Number protection | Not stated. |
| Page and date checked | getautomata.app/whatsapp-mcp, read 2026-11-08 (no date on the page). |
Read from the vendor's own page on 2026-11-08. "Not stated" means the page read does not say.
Kondo
| Property | As stated on the page |
|---|---|
| Shape | "Kondo hosts a Model Context Protocol (MCP) endpoint that talks to the Kondo desktop app on your computer"; it works only while the app is running. |
| How WhatsApp is connected | Through the Kondo desktop app. The linking method is not stated. |
| Sign-in for ChatGPT and claude.ai | "OAuth sign-in" with the Kondo account. |
| Clients named | Claude, ChatGPT, Dots, Codex, Cursor, VS Code (GitHub Copilot), other clients. |
| What the AI can do (read, send, approval step) | "Drafts only. Your agent can't send. You review and send every message in Kondo." |
| Free tier | Not stated. |
| Price | Not stated. "MCP is available on the Business and Enterprise plans". |
| Number protection | "Automation is the number one way to put your account at risk." The home page also says "anything an agent writes stays a draft until you send it." |
| Page and date checked | trykondo.com/docs/whatsapp-mcp-server-setup and trykondo.com, read 2026-11-08 (no date on the pages). |
Read from the vendor's own page on 2026-11-08. "Not stated" means the page read does not say.
TimelinesAI
| Property | As stated on the page |
|---|---|
| Shape | Hosted MCP server at mcp.services.timelines.ai with MIT-licensed source, on a WhatsApp CRM sold per seat. |
| How WhatsApp is connected | QR linked device and WhatsApp Business API (and Coexistence). |
| Sign-in for ChatGPT and claude.ai | "OAuth sign-in, no API tokens" through mcp-remote. ChatGPT connector steps are not on the guide. claude.ai chat is not stated. |
| Clients named | Guide: Claude Code, Cursor, Codex, Claude Desktop. Pricing page: "Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, Codex or any MCP client". |
| What the AI can do (read, send, approval step) | "see your chats, send messages, label, assign, and react". "There is no sandbox, no dry-run flag, no undo"; drafting first is described as a way to prompt. |
| Free tier | No free plan stated. 10-day trial, no card (trial limits: 20 automated messages, 1,000 API calls). |
| Price | Per seat per month: Starter $35 ($28 yearly), Pro $49 ($39 yearly), Enterprise custom. MCP "Included in every plan at no extra charge". |
| Number protection | Not stated. |
| Page and date checked | timelines.ai/whatsapp-mcp-guide and timelines.ai/timelinesai-pricing, read 2026-11-08 (the guide says "Capability guide · 2026"). |
Read from the vendor's own page on 2026-11-08. "Not stated" means the page read does not say.
Composio
| Property | As stated on the page |
|---|---|
| Shape | "Hosted Whatsapp MCP for Claude, Cursor, and ChatGPT". |
| How WhatsApp is connected | "using the WhatsApp Business API". |
| Sign-in for ChatGPT and claude.ai | Sign-in from ChatGPT or claude.ai to the endpoint is not stated. Auth types toward WhatsApp: OAuth2 or API key. |
| Clients named | Claude Code, Cursor, ChatGPT, Claude Cowork, OpenAI Agents SDK, VS Code, OpenClaw and several agent frameworks. |
| What the AI can do (read, send, approval step) | Send messages, fetch conversations, manage contacts. "Keep an approval step in your prompt for actions with side effects". |
| Free tier | Hobby plan: "100,000 tool calls per month with no credit card", "up to 20,000 of those can run through Composio-managed apps like Whatsapp". |
| Price | Paid plan amounts not stated on the page. |
| Number protection | Not stated. |
| Page and date checked | composio.dev/toolkits/whatsapp, read 2026-11-08 (page data dated 2026-11-06). |
Read from the vendor's own page on 2026-11-08. "Not stated" means the page read does not say.
lharries/whatsapp-mcp
| Property | As stated on the page |
|---|---|
| Shape | Self-hosted open-source project (MIT): you clone it and run a Go bridge plus a Python MCP server. |
| How WhatsApp is connected | "connects to your personal WhatsApp account directly via the Whatsapp web multidevice API (using the whatsmeow library)", by QR; re-authentication may be needed after about 20 days. |
| Sign-in for ChatGPT and claude.ai | Not stated; the server is set up in a local client config. |
| Clients named | Claude Desktop, Cursor. |
| What the AI can do (read, send, approval step) | Search and read messages, including media, and "send messages to either individuals or groups". An approval step is not stated. |
| Free tier | Open source under the MIT license. |
| Price | Not stated. |
| Number protection | Not stated. The README notes it is "subject to the lethal trifecta" and that "project injection could lead to private data exfiltration". |
| Page and date checked | github.com/lharries/whatsapp-mcp (README), read 2026-11-08 (no date on the page). |
Read from the vendor's own page on 2026-11-08. "Not stated" means the page read does not say.